Uniden CXAI5198 5.8 GHz Analog Cordless Phone with Corded Base and Answering System Reviews




6 Responses to “Uniden CXAI5198 5.8 GHz Analog Cordless Phone with Corded Base and Answering System Reviews”

  1. Gina says:
    67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Nice unit, overall, for the price, September 21, 2005
    By 
    Gina

    This review is from: Uniden CXAI5198 5.8 GHz Analog Cordless Phone with Corded Base and Answering System (Office Product)

    I bought this phone after reading reviews on Amazon and Consumer Reports. I was looking to replace a Panasonic phone (model KX-TG2382) that I bought only 2 years ago, and always had problems with (had a clicking noise on the phone line). Since the Panasonic phone was out of warranty, they wouldn’t fix it or exchange it!

    So far, I have been very happy with the Uniden. It was reasonably priced, and I like having a line that won’t go dead in a power outage.

    The only drawbacks I can see are the lack of speakerphone on the handset unit.

    Another reason I only gave this unit 4 stars is because if you program the handset to be in “AutoTalk” mode, and you have the handset somewhere besides sitting in the cradle, then you can’t answer that phone by hitting the talk button. So, I found the handset a bit confusing in this mode.

    Also, the answering machine recordings sound a bit too “digital” for me.

    However, the voice quality of both the base phone and the handset are very clear, and I’m happy with that!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. P. Hedgecock "bushchicken" says:
    69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    no problems, October 3, 2005
    By 
    P. Hedgecock “bushchicken” (Wisconsin) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: Uniden CXAI5198 5.8 GHz Analog Cordless Phone with Corded Base and Answering System (Office Product)

    We bought this phone about a month ago, and have had no problems with the volume of the cordless phone as one reviewer stated.
    This was the cheapest corded/cordless phone around and we found that the Ni-Cad battery can be replaced with Ni-MH, which we were looking for in a phone since our last phone’s battery kept dying fast.
    We have been impressed with the sound quality and all the extras that this phone has.
    We like having a corded phone, as well as a cordless, so we always know where one phone is located when we’re trying to answer the phone.
    We think it was a very good buy.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. J. Smith says:
    23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Phone that answers all our needs, April 1, 2006
    By 
    J. Smith
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: Uniden CXAI5198 5.8 GHz Analog Cordless Phone with Corded Base and Answering System (Office Product)

    My wife and I are over 65 and need a phone with big volume, big buttons, and ease of use. This phone has all these and more. I really like its auto dial system that lists on its base what you have programed, then lets you scan through the people to the one you want, then simple hit the talk button. I really like the combination of a base speaker phone with corded handset and answering machine. I use the speaker phone all the time and my wife prefers the handset. It comes with a cordless handset which my wife has in her bedroom. For the first time my wife has no trouble using the telephone and using auto dial and she can turn the volume up so she has no trouble hearing. It also has recorded instructions and help features in case you’ve forgotten the exact procedure for a feature you don’t use often. We love this phone. It’s a great buy!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. Stefan Schurter says:
    8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    Would not Buy it again, March 26, 2006
    By 
    Stefan Schurter (Laguna Hills, CA United States) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: V-Tech VTIA5851 5.8GHz Analog Cordless Telephone with Answering Machine and Caller ID (Silver/Black) (Office Product)

    Nothing Special, disapointed with the distance the phone reaches. You better stay in the same room as the transmitter. After two rooms over, you will get static that makes it almost impossible to use. The answering machine I would rate a 4, it’s good and simple to use. The Phone a 1. My 900 HZ, $14.99 cordless phone was a lot better then this.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. Katherine M. Baltrush says:
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Great, inexpensive phone, December 5, 2007
    By 
    Katherine M. Baltrush (Boston, MA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: V-Tech VTIA5851 5.8GHz Analog Cordless Telephone with Answering Machine and Caller ID (Silver/Black) (Office Product)

    I was worried about buying this phone as the reviews of the product had been mixed. But it was so inexpensive, I took a chance. I have been very happy with it. It took no time to set up, the controls are simple, the battery life is very long and the signal is clear. It also has a nice look to it, for those concerned with their decorating.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. J. Chen says:
    4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Works well, August 30, 2007
    By 
    J. Chen (MN, USA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: V-Tech VTIA5851 5.8GHz Analog Cordless Telephone with Answering Machine and Caller ID (Silver/Black) (Office Product)

    I owned another VTech cordless phone with answering machine. That phone worked Ok too. But one day, I took it outside and forgot it at the deck. By the time I remembered, the handset sat in the rain for 30 minutes and totally soaked. From that day, the handset’s talk-time won’t last 30 minutes even after we replaced the battery. This phone and answer machine works fine. The package is a bit strange though: most of the stuffs are wrapped in plastic bags that are not sealed. But the product looks brand new. The handset does not feel as sleek as panasonic’s but the battery lasts days without a recharge. For the price, it can’t be beat.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No


Powered by Yahoo! Answers